Mornings

I guess I should start by saying I’m not at all a morning person. I don’t normally exist before 9am and having to wake up early is one of the WORST feelings in the world to me. Okay maybe that was a little exaggerated, but I really don’t like it. There’s something about mornings that I do love though. Especially when you get up just because your body decided to, not because your alarm is blaring at you. There’s a certain type of atmosphere in the morning, no matter where you are. The smell of the morning is different than any other time of day. I loved waking up back home and drinking a cup of coffee, eating peanut butter and Nutella toast, while I stared out the huge window in the kitchen at my granny’s beautiful backyard. It’s like nothing matters at that moment, except you and your coffee. The airport is also one of my favorites. Especially, first thing in the morning. I told my friend once that I love it because it smells like coffee and the unknown. She thought it was hilarious, but it really is true. So many people coming and going whether it’s for vacation, business trips, or family gatherings. Add in the smell of freshly brewed coffee and there you have it. The smell of an airport morning.

Whenever you’re traveling, the mornings are the best part (in my opinion). You get to get up when you want and drink your coffee, or eat your breakfast while you sit and just take it all in. The cool air, the smells of the city, the food–just being somewhere entirely different from what you’re used to. Seeing all the people waking up, doing their daily routines of going to work and school, is just a feeling that can’t be explained. Here you are visiting this place for whatever reason, but when you leave these people will continue to live out their daily routine just as they did before you arrived. It’s something that has always fascinated me.

Being a part of it is much different though, it’s something so strange. Here in Thailand, I wake up I make coffee and my usual peanut butter and Nutella toast bread that I pull out of the fridge, (so I guess technically it’s the opposite of toast) and I walk outside to see the sun coming up and hear the roosters crow. I love the sounds in the morning, I could do without the roosters and the birds at 4am, but once I’m up I don’t mind. After I’m ready to go, I walk down to the main street where I wait for the school bus.

The main street in town where I wait for the school bus

This was an unusually deserted morning, there are typically many more people

It’s like I’m in middle school all over again. But I love sitting and watching everyone start to set up their food stalls, selling sticky rice and bananas, or fried pork. The streets smells of food, mixed with a little bit of smoke and fresh morning air. I see monks and backpackers walk by simultaneously. Sometimes I make eye contact with the backpackers and for a small, fleeting moment we almost have a connection. But then it’s broken by the fact that they’re passing through, and for me this is my life right now. This is my daily routine and sometimes I feel like I have nothing in common with the backpackers who are just passing through for the day. Although I’m so excited for the day when I’ll be traveling carefree just as they are, I’m thankful for this time that I actually get to experience and start to feel somewhat a part of this culture. So no matter where I am or what I’m doing, enjoying the sounds, sights, and smells of the morning wherever I am, will always be one of the little joys in life that I treasure.

Leave a Reply

